Where Interest
Becomes Inspiration

Kershaw County Library

Browse Our Collection

SC Lends is a consortium of twenty library systems in South Carolina. Materials can be searched and selected with the click of a button, and routed to your home library.

Cant find the book you want? Please fill out the Book Request Form so we can add it to our collection!

Our Downloadables

Your library offers ebooks and audiobooks for you to download, all for free! These can be borrowed on your phone, tablet, e-reader, or computer.

May 27
May 27, 2024

Library Closed – Memorial Day 2024

The library will be closed in all locations on Monday, May 27, 2024, for Memorial Day. We will reopen with regular business hours on Tuesday, May 28, 2024.

May 28
May 28, 2024 @ 11:15 am – 11:45 am

Children's Storytime – May 2024

Bethune Branch, Bethune SC

Kids ages 0-5 can join us at the Bethune branch for fun stories, songs, and more with Youth Librarian Ms. Lauren!

May 28
May 28, 2024 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm

Elgin Book Club – May 2024

Elgin Branch, Elgin SC

Come to the monthly Elgin Book Club for great reads and great discussions! This month, pick up┬áThe Lost Ticket by Freya Sampson and let us know what you think on …

Celebrate Asian American & Pacific Islander Heritage

  • Unaccustomed Earth

    Jhumpa Lahiri

    In this collection from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of “Interpreter of Maladies” and “The Namesake”, eight dazzling stories take readers from Cambridge and Seattle to India and Thailand, as each explores the secrets at the heart of family life.

  • The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

    Lisa See

    Explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter, who has been adopted by an American couple, tracing the very different cultural factors that compel them to consume a rare native tea that has shaped their family’s destiny for generations.

  • Magnolia Wu Unfolds it All

    Chanel Miller

    A self-proclaimed sock detective inside her parents’ New York City laundromat, 10-year-old Magnolia Wu and Iris, a new friend from California, set off across the city to solve the mystery of each missing sock, meeting people and uncovering the unimaginable along the way.

  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

    Jamie Ford

    Set in the ethnic neighborhoods of Seattle during World War II and Japanese American internment camps of the era, this debut novel tells the heartwarming story of widower Henry Lee, his father, and his first love Keiko Okabe.

  • Almost American Girl

    Robin Ha

    A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life–perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of…

  • Superman Smashes the Klan : the graphic novel

    Gene Luen Yang

    When Dr. Lee moves his family to Metropolis, his son Tommy adjusts to the new neighborhood while daugher Roberta feels out of place, so when the evil Klan of the Fiery Cross begins a string of terrorist attacks on the city, Superman fights them, and Roberta and Superman soon learn…

  • Loveboat, Taipei

    Abigail Hing Wen

    When Ever Wong’s parents sent her away for the summer, she’s expecting Chien Tan: a strict, educational immersion program in Taiwan. Instead, she finds the infamous “Loveboat.” There, Ever is surrounded by prodigies, like Rick Woo, Chinese American wonder boy and longtime bane of her existence; Ever’s roommate, the confident…

  • Stargazing

    Jen Wang

    Moon is everything Christine isn’t. She’s confident, impulsive, artistic…and though they both grew up in the same Chinese-American suburb, Moon is somehow unlike anyone Christine has ever known. When Moon’s family moves in next door to Christine’s, Moon goes from unlikely friend to best friend–maybe even the perfect friend. The…

  • Seen and Unseen : what Dorothea Lange, Toyo Miyatake, and Ansel Adam’ photographs reveal about the Japanese American Incarceration

    Elizabeth Partridge

    Legendary photographers Dorothea Lange, Toyo Miyatake, and Ansel Adams all photographed the Japanese American incarceration, but with different approaches-and different results. This nonfiction picture book for middle grade readers examines the Japanese-American incarceration-and the complexity of documenting it-through the work of these three photographers.

  • We Who Produce Pearls : an anthem for Asian America

    Joanna Ho

    An anthem for Asian America that celebrates the richness and diversity within the Asian American identity and serves as a reminder of our self worth, our legacy and most of all, our destiny.